New Year, New Partnership

This post may be a day late in that it was a live-blog of one of my fav awards shows, The Golden Globes, but there is a reason! I would like to formally introduce my friend Brett Eisen as a fellow blogger of television. Every week I will try to pull from Brett’s awesome blog, Mars Musings, to offer more great content! 

Check out his coverage of the Golden Globes below for his musings on the big winners of the night and check out Mars Musings for more thoughts on the world of television, technology, pop culture and more! 
Tonight’s post is a live blog of the 69th Annual Golden Globes hosted (again) by Ricky Gervais. I hope it’s a great show tonight. Best of luck to all of the nominees.

Unfortunately I have not seen all of the movies / shows nominated. Where I can I’ll muse about the category. Otherwise I’ll just denote the winners. Enjoy tonight. Updates will be at the bottom of the post.

Best Supporting Actor – Motion Picture: Christopher Plummer – Beginners

Best Actress – TV Series, Comedy or Musical: Laura Dern – Enlightened

I did not see all of the shows in this category. I usually pull for Tina Fey because I believe she is just so talented and wonderful. I also happen to love 30 Rock.

Best Mini-Series or TV Movie: Downton Abbey

Only saw one episode of this show and I knew it was a winner. I could just tell from that small snippet how well it was done. Congratulations – it really shows how period pieces can be done well on TV.

Note: Acceptance speech thanked the audience. Yeah – audience FTW.

Best Actress in Mini-Series or TV Movie: Kate Winslet – Mildred Pierce

Kate Winslet has such grace and poise. Her acceptance speeches are always so good. Congratulations!

Best Actor in a TV Series – Drama: Kelsey Grammer – Boss

This is always such a hard category to predict. Every actor is incredible in their own right. I was really pulling for Damian Lewis. I thought he played such a complex, well written character. It takes tremendous skill to pull a role like that off.

Best TV Series – Drama: Homeland

Another difficult category. Every show was so good. I predicted the winner and am really excited. I don’t even know what I’d call a close second. I would have been happy with Game of Thrones or Boardwalk Empire. Congrats! The show was absolutely spectacular.

Best Original Score – Motion Picture: Ludovic Bource – The Artist

Best Original Song – Motion Picture: “Masterpiece” – W.E. – Music & Lyrics By: Madonna, Julie Frost and Jimmy Harry

What’s the deal with Madonna’s arms? They are not pretty (at all). They might haunt my nightmares tonight – seriously.

Best Performance By an Actor in Mini-Series or TV Movie: Idris Elba – Luther

Actress – Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical: Michelle Williams – My Week With Marilyn

Didn’t see the movie but her acceptance speech was great. I loved the call outs about her daughter and her tie in to Marilyn’s win 50 years ago.

Best Supporting Actor in a Mini-series or TV Movie: Peter Dinklage – Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones FTW! Peter is so deserving of this award. His portrayal of Tyrion Lannister truly brought the character to life straight out of the book in such a compelling way. Although he’s only considered a supporting actor he definitely carried many parts of the season all by himself. Congratulations!

Best Animated Feature Film: The Adventures of Tin Tin

Go Steven Spielberg! Such a spectacular film maker with already a long, lengthy legacy.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture: Woody Allen – Midnight in Paris

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television: Jessica Lange – American Horror Story

Definitely a role deserving of the win. She carried the show with her wonderful betrayal of the creepy, very creepy, scary neighbor. She had such range and you could see all her talents throughout that great season. You can read my take on season one here.

Best Foreign Language Film: A Separation – Iran

I know nothing about this film but I am very happy to see a movie from Iran as a winner. Iran is one of those countries we only hear bad things about on the news and this is a good thing for once. Not everything is violence and anti-semetic political rhetoric. Beauty in art can be found anywhere when its from mankind, no matter what country.

Best Actress in a TV Series – Drama: Claire Danes – Homeland

Clair Danes is so deserving of this award. This was her triumphant return to TV. He portrayal of Carrie as a driven, strong female lead was amazing. She was able to deal with the complexities of the character’s brokenness and truly made the show. Homeland FTW again!

Best Performance by an Actor In A Television Series – Comedy Or Musical: Matt LeBlanc – Episodes

I was really pulling for Alec or David Duchovny in this category. I really didn’t think Alec would win with everything that’s happened this year. David’s “Hank Moody” is one of the coolest characters on TV. I didn’t get a chance to see Episodes yet but I’m sure going to catch up on it now.

Best Performance by an Actress In A Supporting Role in a Motion Picture: Octavia Spencer – The Help

Though I didn’t see “The Help” yet, I’m being told that she is very deserving of this award. That’s all I have.

Cecil B. DeMille Award: Morgan Freeman

Though this is not a competition for the night and the fact that he was already announced as the winner does not make this award any less important. Sidney Poitier called him a “prince of the profession” and I have to agree. Welcome to the elite club, you truly deserve it. His film montage was amazing, such incredible films.

Best Director – Motion Picture: Martin Scorcese – Hugo

Everything Martin touches is amazing. I didn’t see the movie but after watching an interview with him on The Daily Show I knew this movie would be great. He talked about how his twelve year old daughter impacted his vision for this movie and how passionate he was about the story itself. It’s in my Netflix queue already.

Best TV Series – Comedy or Musical: Modern Family

I am very happy with the Modern Family win. It’s been a consistently great show throughout its run thus far. It’s especially tough to have such a large ensemble cast but Levitan and Lloyd do it well. I’m also just glad that Glee didn’t win. Glee just hasn’t been good this season. I still have to watch Enlightened and Episodes, I bet they’re good too.

And wow, what a funny bilingual acceptance speech.

Best Actor – Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical: Jean Dujardin – The Artist

All I have to say is that I’ll be adding this to my Netflix queue immediately.

Best Actress – Motion Picture, Drama: Meryl Streep – Iron Lady

Meryl is just unbeatable. I know I’m probably factually wrong but I really can’t remember her being nominated for this category and not winning. I was really pulling for Rooney Mara as she did an amazing transformative job on Lisbeth Salander in “The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo” but I guess I can’t always in. I will hand it to Meryl though, she always gives such conciliatory acceptance speeches. Go her!

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy: The Artist

I saw the trend building tonight with all the awards the film already received. Congrats to the team on the big win. I’ll be watching you soon.

Best Actor – Motion Picture, Drama: George Clooney – The Descendants

The Descendants is also on my Netflix queue but with everything I know about George I am not surprised one bit. What a funny speech.

Best Motion Picture – Drama: The Descendants

And that’s a wrap. Congrats to all the winners. I’m not so sure Ricky Gervais was such a good choice again. He was better than the last time but overall it was not that funny. I hope you enjoyed. Perhaps there will be more to come in the future when I get to see some of the winners I haven’t caught yet. Good night.

This entry was posted in Golden Globes, Mars Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

